News & Multimedia

How the Red Bull Air Race World Championship Has Played Out in the Past

The 2017 season has kept everyone on the edge of their seats, with three pilots taking race wins and 10 collecting at least one podium. It's all come down to the final race in Indianapolis. Four pilots still have the chance to lift the World Championship trophy come the end of Race Day.

With that in mind we thought we would look back at how the seasons have finished in the final round...

Year: 2005
World Champion: Mike Mangold

His was the first year the Red Bull Air Race was a ratified World Championship. Ten pilots took part over seven races. There was only ever going to be one winner in that year. American Mike Mangold took five of the wins and only had one race where he wasn't on the podium – a fifth place finish at the Rock of Cashel in Ireland. Second place went to Peter Besenyei and third to Kirby Chambliss.

Year: 2006
World Champion: Kirby Chambliss

It was another American who took the win in '06. Chambliss won four of the eight races, but it was a close affair. Peter Besenyei chased Chambliss all the way and even took the win at the final race in Perth, Australia. Chambliss took the title by just three points. Besenyei lost out because he was Disqualified at his home race in Budapest – if he had collected points there it could've been a different story.

Year: 2007
World Champion: Mike Mangold

Mangold became the sport's first two-time champion. When he took the title in 2007 it went down to the wire with Paul Bonhomme. By the end of the season both pilots were on 47 points with three race wins each. There was a championship tiebreaker which Mangold edged and pushed Bonhomme into second place.

Year: 2008
World Champion: Hannes Arch

Bonhomme had to once again settle for second place in the championship when he lost out to Hannes Arch – who was only in his second season. Arch stood on the podium in six of the eight races and had a convincing lead by the end of the season, to be crowned the first European World Champion.

Year: 2009
World Champion: Paul Bonhomme

2009 was to be the biggest season in terms of pilots. 15 took to the skies for this season, which included four pilots that are now contending for wins, podiums and World Championships themselves. It was the introduction of Matt Hall, Matthias Dolderer, Yoshihide Muroya and Pete McLeod, but it was ultimately Paul Bonhomme's year. He finished every race in first or second and took the title by seven points with Hannes Arch finishing second.

Year: 2010
World Champion: Paul Bonhomme

Bonhomme became the first man in the sport's history to take back-to-back world championships and equal Mike Mangold's record. Again it was a tight finish. Bonhomme won by just four points and Arch was chasing him all the way. It was Arch's disappointing result at the season opener in Abu Dhabi that saw him lose out.

Year: 2014
World Champion: Nigel Lamb

Paul Bonhomme, Hannes Arch and Nigel Lamb were all in contention to be the 2014 champion. At the final race of the season it was still a three-way split of who could win the championship. Lamb had moved to the top of the standings and was on 53 points, five points behind was Hannes Arch and one point further behind was Bonhomme. So every point counted. Ivanoff flew perfectly at that last round, taking the win and leaving the three leaders to scrap it out for the remaining points. Lamb finished second (which was his fifth second place in a row), with Arch finishing fourth in the race, and Bonhomme fifth. The championship title went to Lamb with Arch finishing second and Bonhomme third.

Year: 2015
World Champion: Paul Bonhomme

It was clear from the beginning of the 2015 season that it was going to be a two-horse race between Bonhomme and Matt Hall. The final race of the season was coming down to the wire and every point mattered. At the final race of the season Bonhomme had one hand on the trophy going into the race in Las Vegas. For Matt Hall to prise the British pilot's hand off he needed to win and hope Bonhomme finished out of the top four. Hall won, but there was no stopping Bonhomme. He finished second and took his third title. He then retired, bowing out as the most successful pilot ever.

Year: 2016
World Champion: Matthias Dolderer

There was no stopping Dolderer in the 2016 season. His dominance was evident from the start of the season. He finished in the top two of every race, but one. Matt Hall was the closest to challenging Dolderer, but when the German won in Indianapolis (race seven) he took the title with the final round to spare – something that had never been done before.

So that leaves it to 2017, where Pete McLeod, Yoshihide Muroya, Kirby Chambliss and championship leader Martin Sonka will be looking to become the 2017 Red Bull Air Race World Champion. Tickets are still available for the race taking place at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on 14-15 October, get yours HERE.

Show More Show Less
Now Viewing
RBAR How It Played Out Header
How the Red Bull Air Race World Championship Has Played Out in the Past
The 2017 season has kept everyone on the edge of their seats, with three pilots taking race wins and 10 collecting at least one podium. It's all come down to the final race in Indianapolis. Four pilots still have the chance to lift the World Championship trophy come the end of Race Day.
Read More
Related Media
Carlin Racing
Carlin Joins Verizon IndyCar Series for 2018 Season Confirming Drivers Chilton and Kimball
Carlin is proud to announce their move into the Verizon IndyCar Series in a full-time capacity for the 2018 season. Joining the first season INDYCAR effort at Carlin will be drivers Max Chilton and Charlie Kimball along with primary partners, international insurance brokerage, risk management and consulting services firm, Gallagher and global healthcare company, Novo Nordisk.
Read More
12 Days of IMS De-Lights Bringing More Holiday Cheer to Indy
The Indianapolis Motor Speedway will make this year’s holiday season extra memorable for Lights at the Brickyard attendees, with a special new “12 Days of IMS De-Lights” promotion that starts Dec. 13 and runs through Christmas Eve, Dec. 24.
Read More
Jack Harvey
Harvey Joins MSR, SPM Partnership for 102nd Running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil
Driver Jack Harvey and Michael Shank Racing are taking the next step in their Verizon IndyCar Series careers together, with veteran team Schmidt Peterson Motorsports lending a guiding hand.
Read More
Amazing Race
Rossi, Daly Lead Team INDYCAR in 'The Amazing Race'
Alexander Rossi and Conor Daly have been friends for years, and sometimes housemates since both joined the Verizon IndyCar Series full time in 2016. Now they’re something more: teammates for Season 30 of “The Amazing Race,” the popular, Emmy Award-winning reality competition show airing on CBS.
Read More
Newgarden Introvert
Newgarden Talks Racing Life with Aspiring Journalists
Recently crowned Verizon IndyCar Series champion Josef Newgarden spent most of an hour Tuesday disproving the fact he’s a self-described “introvert.”
Read More
Items 1 - 5 of 2,831
Reserve one of our hospitality suites for your next event!
To start planning your event at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway please fill out our Information Request Form or contact IMS Sales Department at (317) 492-8739 or email at
Latest Tweets